Polokwane leapfrog Chiefs after Sekhukhune draw

football11 May 2024 15:09| © Backpage TXT
article image
Chibuike Ohizu and Lebogang Nkaki © Gallo Images

Polokwane City shared the spoils with their Limpopo rivals Sekhukhune United after a 0-0 draw in a DStv Premiership match played at the Old Peter Mokaba Stadium on Saturday.

Despite the draw, Polokwane City leapfrogged Kaizer Chiefs in the league standings and they are now placed eighth.

Rise and Shine will be in action on 18 May as they take on their top eight rivals Chiefs away.

Sekhukhune, on the other hand, remained fourth in the standings as they extended their winless run to four matches.

Babina Noko will be looking to bounce back to winning ways when they host AmaZulu FC on 18 May.

Babina Noko got off to a promising start and they were able to test goalkeeper Manuel Sapunga in the 26th minute.

The Equatorial Guinea international pulled off a decent save to deny Siphesihle Mkhize who had been set up by Rally Bwalya.

Coach Phuto Mohafe decided to refresh his attack - pulling out Douglas Mapfumo and introducing Hlayisi Chauke in the 39th minute.

Chauke had a great chance to hand Polokwane the lead in the 41st minute, but he fired wide of the target.

Rise and Shine pushed for the opening goal after the restart with Oswin Appollis looking lively.

The Bafana Bafana international's lovely delivery found Bulelani Nikani whose header was well-saved by goalkeeper Badra Ali Sangare in the 65th minute.

Linda Mntambo, who was introduced just after the hour-mark, made late runs into the Polokwane box.

The Sekhukhune captain set up Lehlohonolo Mtshali who had a chance to snatch a late winning goal in the 82nd minute, but he was denied by Sapunga who ensured that the game ended in a 0-0 draw.

Polokwane 0

Sekhukhune 0

Polokwane: Sapunga, Mutuludi, Nkwe, Nikani, Nkaki, Alexander (Baloyi 84'), Kambala, Ramabu, Maphangule, Mapfumo (Chauke 39'), Appolis.

Sekhukhune: Sangare, Mobbie (Mkhabela 53'), Yamba, Cardoso, Tiwani, Mokotjo (Mtshali 70'), Mkhize, Mosadi, Mncube (Mokwana 46'), Bwalya (Mntambo 62'), Ohizu.